## **AGENDA**



**Date:** July 7, 2023

The supplemental meeting of the Dallas Police and Fire Pension System Board of Trustees will be held at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, July 13, 2023, in the Second Floor Board Room at 4100 Harry Hines Boulevard, Dallas, Texas and via telephone conference for audio at 214-271-5080 access code 588694 or Toll-Free (US & CAN): 1-800-201-5203 and Zoom meeting for visual <a href="https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86367704127?pwd=WWsyZW13TndLam9oVXFpRDlnZ1NVZz09">https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86367704127?pwd=WWsyZW13TndLam9oVXFpRDlnZ1NVZz09</a> Passcode: 201510. Items of the following agenda will be presented to the Board:

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

### **Approval of Minutes**

Regular meeting of June 8, 2023

The term "possible action" in the wording of any Agenda item contained herein serves as notice that the Board may, as permitted by Texas Government Code, Section 551, in its discretion, dispose of any item by any action in the following non-exclusive list: approval, disapproval, table, take no action, and receive and file. At the discretion of the Board, items on this agenda may be considered at times other than in the order indicated in this agenda.

At any point during the consideration of the above items, the Board may go into Closed Executive Session as per Texas Government Code, Section 551.071 for consultation with attorneys, Section 551.072 for real estate matters, Section 551.074 for personnel matters, and Section 551.078 for review of medical records.

1 of 1

# Dallas Police and Fire Pension System Thursday, June 8, 2023 8:30 a.m. 4100 Harry Hines Blvd., Suite 100 Second Floor Board Room Dallas, TX

Supplemental meeting, Nicholas A. Merrick, Chairman, presiding:

#### ROLL CALL

#### **Board Members**

Present at 8:33 a.m. Nicholas A. Merrick, William F. Quinn, Armando Garza (by

telephone), Kenneth Haben, Tina Hernandez Patterson, (by

telephone), Anthony Scavuzzo (by telephone), Marcus Smith

Absent: Michael Brown, Steve Idoux, Mark Malveaux, Nancy Rocha

Staff Kelly Gottschalk, Josh Mond, Ryan Wagner, Brenda Barnes, John

Holt, Nien Nguyen, Milissa Romero, Cynthia J. Thomas

Others Tom Tull, Luke Gittemeier, Caitlin Grice (by telephone), Jeff

Williams (by telephone), Leandro Festino (by telephone), Aaron Lally

(by telephone), Stuart Pattillo, Mitchell Zaniboni, Rick Salinas

\* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

The Supplemental meeting was called to order and recessed at 8:33 a.m.

The Supplemental meeting was reconvened at 11:27 a.m.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \* \*

#### A. CONSENT AGENDA

#### 1. Approval of Minutes

Regular meeting of May 11, 2023

#### 2. Approval of Survivor Benefits

After discussion, Mr. Haben made a motion to approve the minutes of the meeting of May 11, 2023. Mr. Smith seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved by the Board.

#### Supplemental Board Meeting Thursday, June 8, 2023

#### A. CONSENT AGENDA (Continued)

After discussion, Ms. Hernandez Patterson made a motion to approve the remaining items on the Consent Agenda, subject to the final approval of the staff. Mr. Quinn seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved by the Board.

# B. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION REGARDING ITEMS FOR INDIVIDUAL CONSIDERATION

#### January 1, 2023 Actuarial Valuation Assumptions

Caitlin Grice, Consulting Actuary and Jeff Williams, Vice President and Actuary of Segal Consulting, reviewed the assumptions used for January 1, 2022 Actuarial Valuation and believe they remain appropriate and have recommended only minor changes to the assumptions for the January 1, 2023 Actuarial Valuation for the Regular Plan (Combined Plan) and the Supplemental Plan.

After discussion, Mr. Quinn made a motion to direct Segal to use its recommended assumptions in preparing the January 1, 2023 Actuarial Valuation for the Regular Plan (Combined Plan) and the Supplemental Plan. Mr. Smith seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved by the Board.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

Ms. Gottschalk stated that there was no further business to come before the Board. On a motion by Mr. Haben and a second by Mr. Smith, the meeting was adjourned at 11:28 a.m.

	Nicholas A. Merrick Chairman
ATTEST:	
Kelly Gottschalk Secretary	